Away Team Nimbus 5-1: Astrobase Command Fan Art

Nimbus 5-1 is about to have a very bad day. © 2013 - Max Shields

Nimbus 5-1 is about to have a very bad day. © 2013 – Max Shields

You have to understand that I don’t do fan art. Well besides the TMNT that we all had fun drawing in grade school, some Star Wars battling out against Star Trek in high school. Oh, and maybe some Battlemechs beating each other up somewhere in between.

Anyway, the point is that I haven’t made anything like fan art in about 20 years. Since my real-world life (job, family, saving the universe one small spoonful at a time, you know the drill) takes up a lot of my time, most of the art I do have the time for is limited to quick black and white sketches and doodles to keep my hands somewhat familiar with a pen or stylus. Astrobase Command has sparked off some kind of excitement deep in my curmudgeonly heart and motivated me to start a more lengthy project that culminated tonight.

In the process, I came up with a couple test images to try out composition and color schemes.

First composition test.

Messing around with composition and lighting.

Experimenting with color schemes,

Experimenting with color schemes,

Hopefully it will give everyone a good chuckle, and inspire far more talented artists than I to begin populating the interwebs with some awesome art to share their excitement and encourage others to discover Astrobase Command’s amazing potential.

Leave a Reply

