Spartan Ops

The original Halo came out just as I was starting to get deep into the commitments of my first real job. I enjoyed spending my bachelor evenings with a buddy screaming at each other as we would toss plasma grenades down the hallways to see if we could make them stick to some baddies before reveling in the satisfying thud as the glowing baseballs went off. Real life has a tendency to get in the way of such activities, though, and I soon found myself neck deep in work. Since my buddy was the one that owned the Xbox, and I didn’t even have a TV, the investment to get up to carrying on my interest in Halo seemed to be a pretty high barrier to entry. As the franchise blossomed, it all but faded from my memory.

343 Industry’s series of short videos titled Spartan Ops has sparked my interest anew. It is a well-shot, fast-paced miniseries that is worth getting into for any science fiction fan. Although there are clearly bits for which I had no knowledge of the evidently deep background lore that has developed over the game’s three subsequent iterations, I was still able to enjoy it deeply.

The videos are available on Youtube, but I have embedded them all here, if anything to make it easier for me to go back to watch it again in the future.

While I’m at it, I might as well include the Halo 4 Story, which has been stitched together to form a single continuous clip. It has helped me fill in many of the blanks. Ideally, this should be watched first if you haven’t diligently been playing Halo.

Spartan Ops 1

Spartan Ops 2

Spartan Ops 3

Spartan Ops 4

Spartan Ops 5

Spartan Ops 6: Scattered

Spartan Ops 7: Invasion

Spartan Ops 8: Expendable

Spartan Ops 9: Key

Spartan Ops 10: Exodus

Spartan Ops 11: Exodus Conclusion

And to top it all off, here’s the preview for Halo 5, which now makes much more sense to me (and still looks awesome!)

Leave a Reply

