Suddenly Chewie realized he was in big trouble

In the process of organizing some of the thousands of photographs I’ve taken over the years, I’ve come across a few gems, products of my early attempts at creativity with Photoshop. They are so cheesy, I may have no choice but to share them for all to be stuck with something they can’t unsee.

In this case, back in 2004 I put to work my inner Star Wars and Warhammer 40K fanboy to experiment with merging photographs, creating masks, and using the software’s different color functions to color in a black and white photo I had taken of an unpainted Space Marine miniature. I had completely forgotten about this picture, so this is kind of like finding that twenty dollar bill you forgot in a pair of pants two years ago. Mind you, that bill is a little beat up, some moths have taken some chunks out of it, and it probably needs to be washed, but you’re still a little further ahead than before you put your pants on.

Suddenly Chewie in Trouble

Now that I think about it, this probably planted the seed for this image I submitted for a gamecareerguide game design challenge last November.

Game design challenge: Crossing Over entry

It’s all about taking baby steps and working away at things to keep improving. Few people have the raw natural talent to excel at first. But stick to it, work hard, work smart, and you’ll get there. When it comes to inspiration, an idea can take years to fully develop. Give it time.

Now if you don’t mind, I’ll sign off. I’ve still got a lot of work to do before I excel!

Leave a Reply

