On toddlers and sarcasm

Sarcasm. It turns out kids just don’t quite get it.

Our son was fresh out of the shower, cleanly bundled in his pajamas and sitting on my wife’s knees as she was brushing his teeth. He suddenly began to wriggle his nose and make funny faces. Before either of us could react, he smeared his gooey goobers all over her forearm.

“Oh, thank you for wiping your nose all over my arm, dear.” She announced glumly.

Smoosh! He smothered his nose across her sleeve another time.

“Thanks. I really needed that.”

Sluuurop! A trinity of slimy streaks adorned her arm.

“Gah! I don’t really mean it. Stop wiping your nose on my arm!”

The puzzled look that washed over his face was priceless. It almost screamed “But mommy, I’m just giving you what makes you happy!”

I guess we’ll need to keep working on the concept of sarcasm

4 thoughts on “On toddlers and sarcasm

  1. Haha, oh goodness, I have similar experiences with my youngest sister, who’s 5. It’s kind of fun making sarcastic jokes around her that she doesn’t quite yet get, but I also can’t wait for her to start jumping on this “lowest form of humor.”

    • Yes, it is wonderful to see how a mind develops. I have to start wondering when I see little quirks in his behaviour. Are they all his, or are they reflections of me?

  2. Kids are literal. I once took my friend’s three year old to the movies. I had asked him “do you want to go to the movies?” He said yes. When the movie was over, I said it was time to go. He had a fit. I said, but the movie is over, and he said that I said “movies.” His parents didn’t even realize that he knew singular and plural yet.

Leave a Reply

