I never needed to upgrade my paperback

My wife owns a Kobo reader. She loves it, and yet she hates it. It inexplicably locks up from time to time. My best guess at this point is it’s Kobo’s way to tell her to plug the ebook back into a computer for a software update. Once we’ve tenderly ministered to its outdated firmware, the book appears to work fine again. Occasionally, it also runs out of batteries, that is to be expected of any electronic device.

I guess the technology is progress, but I never had to worry about my physical book not wanting to play on any given day wrecking my plans for its enjoyment. Manufacturers will have to increase the reliability of these devices if publishers also plan on phasing out paper copies of their books.

My 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

