A successful leadership speaking engagement

I have just returned from giving a presentation on leadership to a group of about 65 experienced individuals from across Canada. Although I’ve given many briefings and presentations, some on cutting-edge issues in front of larger crowds, it was the first time I had been asked to specifically discuss leadership. It was an interesting position to be in, since all of the members of the audience were mature leaders in their own right with their own significant experiential baggage to bring to bear. I guess after running things in various places for more than 15 years, I picked up a thing or two along the way which were indeed useful to others. Never underestimate the value of your knowledge.

It went quite well, and I am glad that both myself and my co-presenter were able to turn the event into an effective two way discussion. It is all too easy for this sort of event to turn the crowd into a collection of blowing goldfish kisses and nodding heads. Since nobody’s head careened into the chair back ahead of them, I think we made out alright. I even was able to pick up a thing or two to optimize performance in my own organization, and that is priceless.

Leave a Reply

