Film Noir Portraits ~ Pictures and techniques

Max Shields:

Some great tips on shooting Film Noir portraits.

Originally posted on Photofocus:

Just for fun… In my last post I showed my Hollywood portrait lighting style using just hard light from fresnel spotlights. The post before that featured two point lighting on the street using Speedlights. Now I’ve combined two point lighting with fresnel spotlights and styled the shoot with a Film Noir theme. Film Noir calls for some dramatic acting and there is no better actress for this role than Chloe-Jasmine. Let the drama begin.

2. 1. Chloe-Jasmine Whichello on the cellar stairs at Pipwell Hall in the UK. I used a Lupolux LED 650 light as a back light by resting on the top step and I used an LED 1000 on a stand to my right. I fitted the key light with a Scattergel to give the wonderful dappled look. There was no other light in the cellar so I could add as much as I wanted without having to…

View original 757 more words

Leave a Reply

